Board of Civil Authority

The Board of Civil Authority consists of elected Justices of the Peace (7), members of the Selectboard (3) and the Town Clerk.

Functions of the Board consist of serving as election officials, hearing tax appeals, sitting on the Board for the Abatement of Taxes, administering oaths and solemnizing marriages and civil unions.

Justices of the Peace are elected in November in even numbered years for a two year term. Candidates' names may qualify to be placed on the ballot in one of two ways: Nomination by political party or by filing a petition with the town clerk in the appropriate manner. Justices elected in November take office the following February.

Currently Serving:

Beverly Anderson - JP
Jon Curtis - JP
William Ehmann - JP
Stephen Finneron - Select Board Member
Chuck Hughes - JP
Jim Haff - Select Board Member
Chris Karr - Select Board Member & JP
Margaret Neisner - JP
Judy Storch - JP
Lucrecia Wonsor - Town Clerk


Next Meeting - TBD

Last updated 8/30/2022 3:03:14 PM